16 January 2009

Nebula Award Changes

Yesterday, the Board of Directors of SFWA passed a new set of rules for the Nebula Awards. Some highlights include:

  • changing eligibility from a one-year rolling basis to calendar year of publication
  • changing the recommendation window from "any time" to a three-month nominations period (15 November to 15 February)
  • limiting members to five nominations per category
  • removing the preliminary ballot from the process
  • abolishing the Nebula Award juries, which had had the ability to add one work in each category to the final ballot
  • replacing the script award with a "Ray Bradbury Award for Best Dramatic Presentation" (specifically including motion pictures, television, Internet, radio, audio, and stage productions)
  • explicitly defining the Ray Bradbury script and Andre Norton Young Adult awards as not Nebulas

Read the complete revised and updated Nebula Awards Rules

No comments: